Shawnee Tribe Business Council Announces Appointees to Gaming Commission and Election Committee


In the Shawnee Tribe Business Council's meeting on Monday, March 1, business council members decided on appointments to the Tribe's gaming commission and election committee.


Gaming Commission Appointees

After one year of service, Chris White was reappointed to his seat on the commission and to serve as the commission's chairperson. Joel Barnes was reappointed to his commission seat for a third year of service. Kelli Weaver (Ho-Chunk) was appointed to the commission's third and final seat. This will be her first year of service. Weaver owns KDW Consulting and serves as the Director of Tribal Gaming for SCCG, an iGaming technology group.

"I truly appreciate this appointment," said Weaver. "I’m a member of my Tribe's Bear Clan, and we are known to protect. It is my honor to extend this protection to the Shawnee Tribe in my position on the gaming commission."

Weaver was formerly VP of Business Development for a background screening company working in gaming. She is also the former VP of the Tulsa Chapter American Indian Chamber of Commerce of Oklahoma and currently serves as Secretary of the United Women of Tribal Gaming board. Weaver attended Central Missouri State University and graduated with a Masters in Criminal Justice Administration.

The three commissioners bring a combined 47 years of on-the-job experience to the commission.

“The Shawnee Tribe’s Gaming Commissioners are some of the best in Indian Country,” said Chief Ben Barnes of the appointees. “Each of them brings to our organization real industry experience in regulation and operations. The work they perform on behalf of the Shawnee people is what keeps our government able to fulfill our obligation of service to our citizens.”

Election Committee Appointees

Also, during their Monday, March 1 meeting, Shawnee Tribe Business Council members reappointed all three 2020 Election Committee Members to the 2021 Shawnee Tribe Election Committee. They are Corrine Christian, Cindy Witherspoon and Lillie Morrison.